Home > News & Events


Seventh Nano Research Award goes to Dongyuan Zhao and John A. Rogers

Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature honor two of the world’s leading experts in nanoscience and nanotechnology


Two outstanding scientists have been awarded the annual Nano Research Award which is sponsored by Tsinghua University Press (TUP) and Springer Nature. Dongyuan Zhao is the Professor at the Fudan University. John A. Rogers is the Louis Simpson and Kimberly Querrey Professor at the Northwestern University. Both winners have been invited to give keynote speeches at the 2021 Sino-US Forum on Nanoscale Science and Technology in Shenzhen, China.


Professor Dongyuan Zhao was selected for the award in recognition of his significant contributions to the development of the design, synthesis and structure of functional mesoporous materials. Prof. Zhao pioneered a new route for the synthesis of various mesoporous materials, and prepared a series of thermally stable, large-pore ordered mesoporous oxides, mesoporous polymers and carbon materials. He has formed unique insights on mesoporous molecular sieve structure, and multiphase assembly mechanism, and has made outstanding contributions to the development and application of mesoporous materials.


Professor John A. Rogers was selected for the award in recognition of his significant contributions to the development of the fundamental and applied aspects of nano and molecular scale fabrication as well as materials and patterning techniques for unusual electronic and photonic devices especially on bio-integrated and bio-inspired systems. Prof. Rogers’s research efforts are highly multidisciplinary, and combine expertise from nearly every traditional field of technical study. These groundbreaking innovations poised to revolutionize our live. 

The Nano Research Award, established by the journal Nano Research together with TUP and Springer Nature in 2013, is awarded for outstanding contributions to nano research by an individual scientist. The winner is selected by the Award Committee (the Editors-in-Chief, Associate Editors, representatives from TUP and Springer Nature) after receiving nominations from the members of the Nano Research Editorial Board. Prof. Charles M. Lieber of Harvard University, Prof. Paul Alivisatos and Prof. Peidong Yang, both of the University of California (UC) Berkeley, Prof. Yi Xie of University of Science and Technology of China, Prof. Lei Jiang of Chinese Academy of Sciences, Prof. Chad Mirkin of Northwestern University, Prof. Xinhe Bao of Chinese Academy of Sciences, Prof. Omar M. Yaghi of the University of California (UC) Berkeley were the first eight recipients of the honor.


版权所有(C)2023 清华大学出版社有限公司 京ICP备10035462号 京公网安备11010802042911号

Traffic:     Contact | lawyers | Link | Piracy Report